Some Shockers in Week 7

Posted: October 4, 2010 in General Football chatter
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So I’ve been quiet over the last few weeks, and I must apologise – but I was really unsure of myself just before Week 6 – and quite rightly so as I only scored 38 points. Week 7 however, showed me some mercy with 93.5 and I even managed to hang on to 4th place! (With 5th and 6th close behind as always)

There were some shockers for me this weekend. Mainly the Man U draw with Sunderland and the Liverpool loss at Anfield against Blackpool.  The Chelsea/Arsenal result wasn’t surprising so I wont even get into it!

LIVERPOOL: In the relegation zone

Reina

Reina: Dont pick me for your Fantasy team!

A win by Blackpool doesn’t surprise me much because they’ve been doing fairly ok, but the Liverpool LOSS causing them to find themselves in the bottom 3 of the table? Liverpool manager,  Hodgson said: “There are 31 games left but when you are in the relegation zone you are in a relegation battle.” [WATCH THE VIDEO OF HODGSON’S POST GAME INTERVIEW HERE: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/9056132.stm]

In terms of the Fantasy, Reina is my keeper – and I’m definitely reconsidering that choice! And those poor die hard YNWA guys who put Torres in along with their hopes and prayers – alas the golden boy did not make it past the 10th minute.  Blackpool manager Ian Holloway revealed when the Liverpool striker limped off early on he had thought: “Maybe this is our day.” I have to admit, the same thought went through my mind. HAHA!

MANCHESTER UNITED: Another draw and yet stay in the top 3

Berbatov

Berba: Looook into my eyeball

My team, my team, my team, Manchester United is another cause of major concern. In terms of my fantasy – I made the hard decision of dropping Berbatov this week in exchange for Van Der Vaart. Best choice of the week for me – but it was bitter sweet in a sense. Oh, Fergie better pull out something spectacular in training because I don’t want to witness another draw or even loss in 2 weeks when they face WBA at home. According to an article on yahoo sports this morning, Ryan Giggs is considering a career in United management. [http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/04102010/58/premier-league-paper-round-giggs-wants-fergie-heir.html] – what do you think of this?

Aaaaaaaaaaand on to the Good news….

SPURS: Van Der Vaart – need I say more

Van Der Vaart

Van Der Vaart - you have a new FAN!

With Tottenham really being like my ‘second team’ – Ive been quite disappointed that there are no players who I can depend on. Croutch? Defoe?  Modric?  Pav?  Lennon? None of whom are actually scoring at this point.

VdV is the one guy on this team who is showing major potential and not only that, is actually scoring! So at home against Villa, coming from behind, VdV made himself a fan favourite for sure with his 2 goals, securing the win. And he definitely found a fan in ME. Harry and I are patting ourselves on the back for a good choice here!

I’ll be back in a week with discussions and considerations for Week 8. Ya’ll keep safe till then!

Comments
  1. John Champion says:

    What u saying now?

    • effootball says:

      Ey…. Well Numro Uno – CONGRATS. break out week for you!! Told Konversh HE better be watching his back now! LOL!! things are getting serious up in ‘ere…….

Leave a comment